Dear readers,

I’m still rewriting Homeward by Night. I’m nearly done, and soon I will post updated and extensively corrected chapters of both Homeward and The Road to Bluehorse.

I had thought I would be starting in on my next story by now, but my life has been hectic. I got married to the woman I love, we are blending our families (this is a joy about 80% of the time) and meanwhile, the University of Maine at Farmington, where I teach, is going through one of its more or less quintennial budget crises,l and I’ve had to spend some time and energy yelling at administrators who are young enough to be my kids.

But I’ve already written the first sixty pages of the next story, tentatively called The Dark Age of Sophie. I started it about ten years ago, and my ex HATED it, so I stopped. But my new and forever love, Laura, liked it, as do I, so I’m going to finish it. As you might guess from the title, it tries to look at the dark ages, in a fantasy world, in a realistic way, over the shoulder of a girl hero.

So I should be back in the thick of things in a couple of weeks. I will try to send out warning flares before I start posting.

Paul

