Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I wrote this a few years ago, and I don’t know what to do with it:

“All right, you’ve got me,” said Maia, “what is it?”

“Whatever it is,” said John, “I’m not taking a dip in that.”

“I wouldn’t,” said Amethyst, facing them as they faced the pool. She turned around. They stood along the upper edge of the floor, near the top of the sloping wall. “It’s my dream,” she went on, gazing expressionless at the smooth flat black surface. “It wasn’t like this, but it was just like this.”

The other two watched the pool. “What could that possibly mean?” asked Maia. “Does it even mean anything at all?”

“Yes, of course it does,” muttered Amethyst. “There were people coming out of it.”

“People?”

“Really people?” asked John.

“No, now you mention it,” said Amethyst.

They stared at the surface for some time. Finally Maia said, “What are we supposed to do?”

“Dunno,” said Amethyst. They looked up at John.

“I’m glad we now know what it looks like and where it is,” he whispered, “and I think we can say we have accomplished enough for today.”

 

